How To: Install Inkscape on Mac OS X (10.5.4) Leopard

Incscape iconI recently tried to install an Open Source vector graphics editor called Inkscape. It wasn’t as easy, as I thought: the App doesn’t start… First start dialog appears, after clicking “OK” Inkscape quits.

After I made a lot of researches I’ve found how to make it work. 

So here’s solution:

0. I assume you have already downloaded and installed Inkscape on your mac
1. go to XQuartz web site
2. download and install the the latest X11.pkg version
3. right click Inkscape.app and choose “Show Package Contents”
4. go to Contents/Resources.
5. double click on “opendoc”. A script should run and UI should appear showing a blank document.

After that, the whole thing is fixed. You no longer have to launch X11 or anything. Just click on the Inkscape icon as you’d expect.

16 Responses to “How To: Install Inkscape on Mac OS X (10.5.4) Leopard”

  1. Oxydium Says:

    Thank you very much for your explanation.

  2. Name (required) Says:

    I thank you, too. I’ve had Inkscape on this Mac for so long without using it. How did you ever figure out to go in to the package and run opendoc?

  3. Nuxman Says:

    Thanks you for your information about inkscape.. it works fine ….

  4. Xborn Says:

    Vielen Dank für diese super Anleitung!
    Ich arbeite mit mehreren PCs . Windows, Linux, MAC … jetzt kann ich dieses Programm endlich auf allen Plattformen nutzen.

  5. Anna Says:

    Thanks for this tip! I’m brand new to open source, but this made starting with Inkscape easy even for me.

  6. angelo Says:

    you are my hero!!!
    thanks
    god bless you!

  7. RRaph Says:

    Excellent tip ! Thanks.

  8. Beej Says:

    Thanks for your help.

    I was a bit leary of installing a new version of quartz on my macbook and decided not to update it. I ran the opendoc and it still fixed my hosed inkscape.

    I’m using Mac OS 10.5.6 and Inkscape 0.46

  9. Papa Says:

    Thank you for your explain. I have install Inkscape but never run before

  10. johnrobert Says:

    Thank you Valik. I thought I was facing another long, maybe unsuccessful struggle to get a FLOSS package up and running, but your tip got me there in one leap. Like “Name (required)” says, how did you figure it out?

  11. Cederash Says:

    Шдето я что то подобное уже видел

  12. Ferinannnd Says:

    Очень познавательно. Спасибо.

  13. Avertedd Says:

    Действительно то что надо! А то сколько не лазишь по нету сплошное бла бла бла. Но не тут, и это радует!

  14. Naomi Says:

    You are wonderful! Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!!

  15. Morgan Says:

    I tried this but it still didn’t work. The terminal window said that there was an error and I should report the bug to inkscape.org. Has anyone else had this problem?

  16. slathory Says:

    Thank you a lot! Now it works


Leave a Reply

